Apple Fritter Pull Apart Bread

Not too long ago, my boyfriend suggested I make apple fritters. After looking up a few recipes, the idea of frying donuts seemed daunting. It may be because I don’t particularly enjoy apple fritters, but who’s to say.

While searching for something simpler than having to deep fry donuts, I stumbled upon this recipe for Apple Fritter Pull-Apart Bread.  Not only did it seem doable, but it seemed like something I might actually enjoy as well (spoiler: it was awesome).

I have a tendency to work from recipes and improvise a little bit so I’ve included the recipe below, with the variations that I made. This was a huge hit with my boyfriend (and the guys he works with, or so he said). It’s so simple, and so quick too!

10170736_10152800728503578_8304114978130122063_n

Apple Fritter Pull-Apart Bread:

2 cans Pillsbury Country Biscuits
2 apples, diced (I used Granny Smiths and Galas – I like to use a few types just for some variation in the flavour)
1 tsp lemon juice
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I love cinnamon)
1/4 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp all spice

Glaze:
1 1/2 cups icing sugar
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla

Directions (the original recipe has some great photos of this process, which varies slightly from what I did):
1. Preheat oven based on directions on biscuit package
2. In a saucepan, add diced apples, lemon juice, sugars, vanilla, and spices. Cook on medium heat, stirring often, until the apples have softened and the filling has thickened. Set aside and allow to cool.
3. Flatten each of the rolls (I used the palm of my hand, but you can use a rolling pin if you want). Spray a loaf pan and place the first flattened roll along the short edge of the pan. I turned the pan on it’s end for this, as it allowed me to nicely stack everything. Place some of the filling on the flattened roll – try to avoid having the filling touch the pan, as it will be sticky and be more difficult to remove after baking. Top with a second flattened roll, and continue layering the flattened rolls and the filling. Make sure that when you get to the other end of the pan, you finish with a roll, and not with the filling or you’ll end up with a sticky mess.
4. Set the pan down properly, and cover the loaf in tin foil. Bake for about 30 minutes, covered. After the first thirty minutes, remove the tinfoil and bake until golden. Check at roughly 5 minute intervals, and ensure that the bread is cooked through. It took about 15 minutes after removing the tin foil for me.
5. Prepare the glaze. Whisk together all of the glaze ingredients until it is smooth and there are no longer any lumps. Pour over the bread as desired – I found the glaze to be a bit runny but it hardened nicely onto the warm bread and was delicious!
6. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

